Alina & Peter

Hello, we are Alina and Peter. We grew up on opposite coasts, with Alina in California and Peter in New York and Florida. We met in 2013 in Washington, DC and began dating, but after a few months Peter got his dream job in New York, and asked Alina to go with him. We’ve been happily married since 2016 and live in Brooklyn with our little terrier, Shadow.

Alina grew up playing piano, painting, and competing in rhythmic gymnastics. She went on to study socio-cultural anthropology and international relations, and now manages a practice that investigates financial crimes. Peter grew up playing ice hockey and drums. He studied political science and law, and works as a public defender in New York City.

We’ve long known that we want to grow our family through adoption, and we can’t wait to share our lives with the newest member. We want to give our child ever opportunity to learn and grow in a loving and stable home and vibrant community.

About Alina

Job Description
Associate Managing Director at a Risk Advisory Firm


Reading fiction (Haruki Murakami, Thomas Pynchon, Neil Gaiman) drawing and watching graphic design tutorials, discovering new artists, cooking, being a dog and plant mom

Fun Fact
Alina hates flour (it gets everywhere!) but is an excellent baker

About Peter

Job Description
Public Defender specializing in forensic evidence

Watching ice hockey, TV and movies, reading, playing video games, being a dog dad, planning the next vacation

Fun Fact
Peter was offered a semi-professional contract to play ice hockey

Our Lives

We’ve lived in various parts of Brooklyn since we moved to New York City, and in our free time, we like to explore our neighborhood, which is full of things to do. We go to Prospect Park, Fort Greene Park, and the Brooklyn Botanic Garden on a regular basis.

We love to travel the world and have been to Peru, Japan, Italy, France, Stockholm, London, Prague, Germany, Amsterdam, Turks and Caicos, and Mexico together. We love to try new restaurants, watch movies and shows, take our dog to the park, go hiking, go to museums and the theater, and spend time with our friends and family. We’re a subway ride away from anywhere in NYC, a train ride from Boston, Philadelphia, and DC, and a plane ride from anywhere in the world.

Our Family

Peter’s parents, Thomas and Julie, live in Florida. His brother Justin works for a labor union in Colorado. We typically visit Florida for the holidays, and Justin comes to New York several times a year. We also take extended vacations together. Peter’s Uncle Dennis and Aunt Rebecca live in Memphis with his cousin Max, and Peter has traveled with them to visit extended family in Ghana. Alina and her parents came to the US from Ukraine when she was three years old. Her parents live in the San Francisco Bay Area, and we typically visit them for Thanksgiving. We enjoy taking day trips to wine country or vacationing together in Mexico. Alina has extended family throughout the US and in Europe.

Our parents can’t wait to become grandparents! We have a close circle of friends who are excited for us to become parents. Many of our friends have children of their own who will be part of our child’s life.

Final Thoughts

“Thank you for considering us! Providing our child with health and happiness, giving our unconditional love and support, and making sure they experience a childhood filled with beauty and wonder will be our life’s mission. We can’t wait to meet you”

– Alina & Peter

To learn more about this Waiting Family or the adoption planning process, call us at 800-321-5683 or email us at [email protected].