I am a caring, generous, and enthusiastic woman who is excited to start building a family and welcome a baby into my life. I am originally from New York City and lived in Boston and Washington, D.C. for a few years as an adult as well. I now live in an apartment in Brooklyn in a lovely neighborhood near many of my friends, my community garden, and the food cooperative where I’m a member/owner. I have a large extended family 60+ aunts, uncles, cousins, and kids of cousins in New York and New England- whom I see regularly and who are excited to welcome another child into the growing family. My career has focused on shaping public policies to ensure that they are socially just and improve the lives of the lowest-income families in our communities- through affordable housing, internet access, social services, and community development resources.

About Melissa

Job Description
Policy Director for the City of New York Mayor’s Office

I enjoy painting, baking, and other creative pastimes. I also love being outdoors gardening, exploring the city, going to the beach, and hiking. One of my favorite things to do is swim- I love being by the ocean and I also swim at my neighborhood Y for exercise in the mornings. I’ve traveled to dozens of countries and love learning about other cultures.

Fun Fact
I love to bake and have made wedding cakes for my friends! I am the family member that supplies the graduation, baby shower, birthday, and all other celebration cakes! I started a small cake making business on the side a few years ago (though my full-time job keeps me busy so I had to put the cake business on pause).

My Life

I have a close-knit, fun-loving, and caring community of friends, neighbors, and family. I am part of a community garden on my block where I grow vegetables- there are plenty of kids in the garden checking out the fishpond and picking tomatoes. I love to cook and organize a “cooking group” of friends who gather at our homes to cook new recipes and share a meal. I also paint in watercolor, draw, make prints, and knit. I love artwork and enjoy visiting museums, something I’ve done since I was a child. I spend time with my friends including several friends with young children. Two friends are also hoping to adopt so there will be plenty of playmates in the neighborhood. On summer weekends, I visit my mom in Rockaway beach and we regularly host our friends and family for visits. I visit my dad and cousins and their kids in Massachusetts regularly.

My Family

I see my large extended family regularly- there are more than 60 of us living in New York, Massachusetts, Vermont, Maine, Rhode Island, Washington, D.C. and California. My grandmother is so excited to have a great-grandchild. My mom, dad, and brother are excited as well. My mom lives in Manhattan and has already started a book collection for the baby. My dad lives in Massachusetts on a river, surrounded by trees. He has my cousins and their kids over every week and loves talking and reading with them. Our family holidays at my dad’s house are large celebrations full of good food, lots of laughter, and kids playing everywhere. I also spend weekends away with my cousins and their kids at their cabins in New Hampshire where we go apple picking, skiing, or enjoy the nearby lake. Gathering with my mom’s family is a more intimate experience as we catch up and share stories, play games, and eat delicious food- often cooking and baking together. 

Final Thoughts

I am both excited and humbled to build a family through adoption. I appreciate how important a decision making an adoption plan is for you and I am impressed with your commitment to ensuring your child has a loving, caring family to raise them. I look forward to being in communication, in whatever way is best for you. 


To learn more about this Waiting Family or the adoption planning process, call us at 800-321-5683 or email us at [email protected].