Albert & Douglas

Albert and Douglas met in Boston in 2012 and have been together ever since, Douglas moved to New York in 2013, and Albert joined him there in 2015. In 2018, we got married surrounded by family and friends at Bear Mountain in the Hudson Valley. In 2021, we bought a house in Union City, New Jersey, where we currently live with our cats, Loroco and Pusungo. We commute to Manhattan a couple days per week and work from home the other days. We’ve both always known we want to be parents and have found the perfect community in Union City for starting a family. We’re excited to raise our child bilingually (Spanish and English) and to share both of our family’s traditions and cultures (Salvadoran and American).

About Albert

Job Description
Researcher at a nonprofit organization.

Playing violin, running, doing yoga, reading, writing, cooking, and baking.

Fun Fact
Albert loves learning languages. He’s studied Spanish, French, Italian (two of his grandparents immigrated to the US from Italy), Ancient Greek, and Latin. He learned Spanish after meeting Douglas, which has been helpful for our frequent trips to El Salvador.

About Douglas

Job Description
Analyst in the financial sector.

Lifting weights, playing volleyball, reading, running, and playing video games.

Fun Fact
Douglas named our cats Loroco and Pusungo to remind us of El Salvador. Loroco is a flower often used as a filling in pupusas, and pusungo is a hot corn-based drink that his dad would often drink in Chalatenango, the area of El Salvador where Douglas grew up.

Our Life

Here’s a typical weekend day for us: Douglas makes us a traditional Salvadoran breakfast (eggs, beans, queso fresco, and plantains), and on Sundays, Albert makes waffles or pancakes. We spend the mornings cleaning, listening to music, or reading at home (Albert’s excited to read aloud his favorite books to his child!). In the afternoon we might go on walks in our neighborhood (which has lots of nice playgrounds and waterparks) or go on a hike nearby to get some fresh air. For dinner, we might cook at home (Albert loves trying new recipes), order food from one of our neighborhood’s many Latin American restaurants (especially pupusas), or have dinner with friends in Manhattan. We might also go to the movies or to a show or concert. We regularly travel to see friends in other cities or to visit our families.

Our Family

Douglas’s mother lives in El Salvador, and we go to visit her at least once per year. He also has two older sisters, an older brother, and five nieces in El Salvador. Douglas’s oldest niece now has a two-year-old daughter of her own. It’s important to us that our child speaks Spanish to allow them to have a strong connection to our family and friends in El Salvador.

Albert’s parents live in his hometown in upstate New York, along with his brother, sister-in-law, niece (age five), and nephew (age three). We visit them regularly, especially for holidays. Albert also has many cousins with kids (seven by now!), and we get together most years for a big family reunion. We also have many life-long friends, both around New York City and elsewhere, many of whom have had children recently. We know our child will be surrounded by love!

Final Thoughts

Thank you for considering us! With us, your baby will be part of a loving, bilingual, multicultural family. We’re excited to share the beauty of the world with another person and to introduce them to everything and everyone we love. If you feel we’re the right family, we’d also be excited to meet you and explore together what our open adoption could look like.

-Albert & Douglas

To learn more about this Waiting Family or the adoption planning process, call us at 800-321-5683 or email us at [email protected].